Fan Service; or, Why are the members of Block B all so gay?

Standard

tumblr_mtuei3XpkG1rwzrydo1_500

Since I have a Web site dedicated to the Korean music group Block B, I feel somewhat obligated to go poking around to where fans are talking to each other to see if anything important has come up. I am 43 years old. Let’s just say that sometimes, I feel a little out of place.

Probably the second-most popular question is the one in this post’s title. (The most-popular question is, “How would it be if one of the members asked you to marry him?” I’ll tell you–it would be hilarious. Unless he meant it, in which case it would be extremely awkward.)

Being a sophisticated and erudite adult, I of course have never asked myself the question, Why are the members of Block B all so gay? Instead, I have asked myself the question, Why are the members of Block B all so comfortable with homoerotic humor?

And that they are!

tumblr_n5tk6wDAHR1qk7763o1_1280tumblr_n7rvubDY1y1shfci1o1_1280


Trust me, there’s plenty more where that came from.

Given that the members of Block B are either all straight or all pretending to be straight (and if it’s the latter, then they really should stop trying to make out on camera), the sheer volume of homoerotic humor is indeed startling. And it seems like the first instinct of most Americans trying to understand it is to parse the various group members’ attitudes toward homosexuality–U-Kwon once said he thinks it’s OK; Zico once used a slur. [ETA: Following the controversy over the release of “Tough Cookie,” Zico’s label stated that “he has no prejudice or negative intention with respect to homosexuals, and he has respect for sexual minorities.” (Translation by Kari @ blockbintl.)]

But I think that’s a red herring. After all, assuming that U-Kwon and Zico have very different attitudes towards homosexuality (although honestly, I don’t think once using a foreign slur proves much given Zico’s limited English proficiency–the main gay neighborhood in Seoul is called Homo Hill after all*), they both have an equally great enthusiasm for homoerotic humor.

The 7:36 mark

The thing that struck me about this video was that the homoerotic humor was not just funny to the members of Block BU-Kwon and Taeil pretend to be in love, and everybody responds with laughter.

What’s going on here? I don’t think it has nearly as much to do with attitudes toward homosexuality as it does with something called fan service.

What’s fan service? Basically it’s tossing in a little titillation here and there as a “service” to your fans. Wikipedia talks about it in the context of Japanese popular culture. Note that 1. fan service is geared toward women as well as to men, and 2. Americans are so hostile to fan service that it is removed from the anime and magna exported here.

Fan service also exists in K-Pop. Indeed, Zico will sometimes preface pouncing on another group member with, “We have to give something to the fans.”

Again, Wikipedia:

The Korean pop industry involves the so-called fan service, which is largely based on bromance of a non-sexual nature between band members of male idol groups. Fans pair their favourites into “OTPs” (one true pairing), who in turn reinforce the pairs by acting cute and brotherly with each other on television.

Block B mocks a lot of the conventions of K-Pop, so it’s no shocker that instead of acting cute and brotherly, they act like they’re trying out for the Korean version of Queer as Folk.

And they’re by no means the first to call into question the non-sexual nature of these bromances.

The fellow playing Jeremy is Lee Hong Ki of FT Island, and that’s a band that is also not shy about pushing the bromance envelope. Get the members of Block B and FT Island Tweeting together, and the slash fiction literally writes itself.

My point is not, here’s your HoYay! My point is, here is something that Americans and Koreans look at and interpret very differently, because Americans are completely unfamiliar with a concept that is very familiar indeed to Koreans. Americans see Block B members fondling each other and ask, Why are they doing that? Are they actually gay? Are they making fun of gay people? What does this mean? Koreans see it and say, They’re mocking fan service. 

Fan service is really an alien and unwelcome concept to Americans–we regard it as pandering. But while it is possible to slice fan service pages out of a Japanese magna, it is pretty much impossible to remove fan service from K-Pop. What does Block B do at their fan meets? They hold hands with their fans–these are even called “high touch” events. They have “romantic moments”–skits replaying romance scenes from movies–with especially lucky fans.

While I think that K-Pop will have to adjust its marketing to the U.S. market, and I think that trying to sell music as sex with some background noise is a mistake in this country, fan service is an issue where I think Americans should just try to unclench. It’s not easy, because we do not regard fan service as harmless–we rant against the obvious cheesecake in magna, we’re insulted by gratuitous shower scenes in anime, and when we see singers encouraging fans to regard them as romantic objects, we think this is a dangerous and frightening practice. Americans are very much indoctrinated into the belief that every person who has a crush on a star is on the path to being an insane stalker hiding in the bushes with a roll of duct tape and a loaded gun.

Obviously, there are insane stalkers–and K-Pop is infamous for them. But I don’t know if that’s so much the result of fan service as it is the result of inadequate law enforcement and anti-stalking laws. (ETA: Ask a Korean notes the similarities between K-Pop stalkers and certain British soccer stalkers; I would be surprised indeed to learn that the owners of Liverpool F.C. ever engaged in fan service.)

The thing is, if you watch the Block B “romantic moments”

The 4:58 mark

the audience does not consist of delusional nut jobs–it consists of people who think that what’s going on is screamingly funny. And when the group spends the day with a fan who repeatedly states with all evident sincerity that she hopes one day to marry Taeil, they’re totally cool about it–and there’s no reason for them not to be, because she is to all appearances a perfectly pleasant and well-adjusted young lady. [ETA: Sadly, the version of this with English subtitles was yanked off YouTube.]

The 11:33 mark

Now, it may be that Block B just doesn’t attract insane stalker fans, because they don’t encourage people to idealize them.

tumblr_msipaukFXt1qk0edpo7_r1_500

Your knight in shining armor.

But you know, what’s so awful about “high touch” events and “romantic moments,” as long as no one takes it too seriously? What’s so wrong about a teenage girl wanting to marry a singer? When I was 14, I very sincerely wanted to marry Simon LeBon of Duran Duran, and I wasn’t leaving old tampons on his doorstep, threatening people who didn’t like his music, or poisoning the orange juice of that guy from the Thompson Twins.

*YES!!!! I think they need a new name!

ETA: Aaaand everything comes full circle at the 2:11 mark, when they do some fan service for a fanboy!

35 responses »

  1. Pingback: What are you hoping to accomplish? | My Other Blog

  2. Pingback: Thank you for your patronage | My Other Blog

  3. Pingback: Fantasy, reality, and boundaries | My Other Blog

  4. Pingback: By “collaboration” you mean “orgy,” don’t you? | My Other Blog

  5. Pingback: Oh, just give it up with the girl groups | My Other Blog

  6. Pingback: The K-Pop language barrier | My Other Blog

  7. Pingback: Marketing and angst | My Other Blog

  8. Pingback: That’s pretty cool | My Other Blog

  9. Pingback: DC ticket giveaway/Block B joke contest! | My Other Blog

  10. Pingback: I can’t believe that people are getting upset by this | My Other Blog

  11. This is very refreshing to read a very well written and documented article about topics usually discussed by teenagers. It is also very interesting to learn about the cultural gap on certain matters between the west and the east, even though they like the same product. Great blog! I really enjoyed reading you.

    • Thank you so much! Block B does an interesting balancing act, because they parody a lot of K-Pop conventions and yet still take the music (as well as certain K-Pop conventions, like giving fans roses) quite seriously.

  12. Pingback: Do people actually watch this stuff before going off on it? | My Other Blog

  13. Pingback: Hey, an anniversary! | My Other Blog

  14. The first time I came across this post, I didn’t give it a second thought because, being a long-time fan of japanese pop culture and western slash fiction, all of this sounded obvious to me. But now I think I know what you mean.

    While I was reading angry comments on Tough Cookie (which is something that I love to do) I came across one stating that Zico was a homophobe because he had outed Taeil before. “What?” I thought, and went to watch the controversial video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-N91aMvJTU) – only to realize I had already watched it and not interpreted it like that. If anything I thought they were teasing Taeil’s crush, not in a “ahaha, homosexuals” way, and this is from someone who’s into the shipping stuff. But it seems that some people were genuinely offended by this, just like people were genuinely mad at “faggot bitch”. It really started to rub off on me, and I had to ask myself “am I stanning a blatant homophobe?” until I re-read this. Phew.

    Reading this it occurred to me that, when it comes to k-pop, in the effort to market their stars as internationally as possible, some important things do get lost in translation (quite literally sometimes, i.e. Thai incident). This may also result in extreme reactions (particularly from the western SJWs, cough). I don’t think that people who interpret things so seriously are “wrong”, although they’re probably mistaken given the circumstances, but IMO it’s really bad when it starts to sound like cultural imposition. The same people will say “they should be more ‘careful’ to not offend international fans” (and ironically there are international fans from many different places but the English-speaking Web mentality is some sort of common ground isn’t it) but it’s actually very difficult to consider all of these factors. At the same time, it seems to me that the k-pop fandom isn’t used to taking things with a grain of salt (perhaps because of factors like, being rather fresh, full of young people and/or “international”), so I’d say more people really should read this post (or the one on political correctness as well). Thank you for this!

    • The thing that always strikes me (and this is probably a reflection of the fact that, because of BlockB.com, I follow them every day and know entirely too much about them) is how little I-netz seem to know. I mean, Block B is practically living at Hong Seok-Cheon’s restaurant these days, but that means nothing to I-netz because they don’t know who Hong is and they don’t know what it means when Hong gets up during a nationally-broadcast TV show and grooves on B-Bomb.

      But of course once people decide that they’re going to be offended, they just start casting about for reasons. I mean, the whole “faggot bitch” thing is hilarious, especially coming from native English speakers who know damn well that the sentence is, “You’re such a faggot, bitch!” (On the other hand, it has given Kpopalypse a new curse word, so that’s good.)

      I do think a big part of it is people’s youth and lack of experience with other cultures (and with being the bumbling outsider in those cultures). I’ve managed to offend a French cop, an entire mosque, and my Chinese in-laws (more than once) without in the least intending to. I don’t look at an apology that says, “I didn’t realize what I did because this means something different where I’m from; I apologize for having hurt your feelings” and think that’s bullshit, because I’ve made that apology myself.

      But I think another part of it, at least with Americans, is that many people feel like they have no say over our popular culture–people like Charlie Sheen and Chris Brown get away with doing really horrible things, and they’re totally unrepentant and quite wealthy, and if you don’t like that, it’s just too bad. Nobody actually likes the Kardashians, but they’re famous anyway and pretty much unavoidable. The fact that K-netz affect what happens in K-Pop I think kind of thrills some people–here’s a fan culture where they can have power! But the reality is a lot more complicated.

      • Lmao. This is actually friendly, isn’t it! Which is more what I would expect from a group that cares enough to do fanservice for a male fan, tbh. I would probably never know about any of this (or who Hong is) if you hadn’t mentioned it, though. I’ve experienced this firsthand as well; I’ve been digging old Block B videos and, since I know a bit of Japanese, I tried to watch some untranslated TV shows. To my surprise, I couldn’t find anything on the English-speaking web about things that were said on TV shows starring Block B that aired as far back as 2011 (and I mean the kind of things everyone would comment on and gif to death if it had been translated – now I really want to help those translators, but sadly my knowledge is very limited).

        Which is exactly what I was talking about as well: the whole kpop thing is rather new, and there are at least two downsides to it. One, many fans are young and may not realize to what extent things are different in other countries and cultures, so there’s a lot of misinterpretation. Two, and perhaps more aggravating, is the fact that those fans often don’t even have access to the information they should have (on Korean culture and whatnot) to change these notions, and realize that, hey, it’s actually different and that apology wasn’t bullshit.
        I may have mentioned it in another post, I was interested in TVXQ in 2008 and back then it was much harder to find anything about them (or any kpop act that wasn’t BoA maybe) in English, so I quickly lost interest. Since then, kpop fandom has come a long way, but even now I guess not that many people speak Korean, and at the same time there are too many things being released so obviously there aren’t enough translators. So I don’t blame anyone for this, but it’s really damaging to the community as a whole, I think. (I only recently started to realize Block B is very much “that one group *sigh*” in communities like Omona They Didn’t, and it saddens me because the reasons are quite unfair.)

        And yes, I guess there’s this too. Even those people who should know better seem to get swept away by how things work in the international kpop circles, and this is why I think that at some point it starts to sound like cultural imposition.

        • Hong kind of breaks my heart–I first saw him on the show Vampire Prosecutor, and he was completely awesome. Then I was watching an episode of Idol Olympics he happened to be on, and he handled a young man’s jacket and they made a HUGE deal out of it. At first I thought it was funny (and I still think that may have been what the show was going for), but he was clearly very upset and was obviously worried and afraid that people would think he was some kind of pervert. Then I was like, Oh, is he THAT guy? because I’d read about him on AskaKorean but hadn’t connected the story to the person. So when he says stuff like “My nephew really loves Block B!” I get choked up because he’s reconciled with some of his family at least, and when he jumped in and danced with B-Bomb it made me really happy because he felt comfortable doing that on TV.

          The shortage of translators is frustrating to everyone, and of course just because you have a translation doesn’t mean it’s actually accurate! I do wish the networks would offer translations more–it’s an expense, but it can be worth it. Unpretty Rapstar’s unofficial English subs has more than 84K views on Daily Motion–that’s a lot of views to abandon.

          I think there is a knee-jerk assumption in international K-Pop circles that any time someone tries to explain something, it’s apologizing or “shielding” or whatever. And much of the time it is!–fans will defend really bad behavior, often the with the blanket excuse that Korean Culture Is Just That Way (meanwhile, in Korea, the person has been arrested). I think that’s part of why there’s so much suspicion when specific cultural information that is actually germane to the issue is offered–it’s hard to sort that out from the Korean Culture Is Just That Way excuse. So people just assume it’s all bullshit, and that what holds true where they happen to live holds true everywhere else as well. (Although sometimes they just don’t know what happens where they live, either–I’ve read some pretty hilarious stuff about Flowergate and how celebrities are ADULTS and need to TAKE RESPONSIBILITY for how their names are used!!!! As though American celebrities and business executives don’t have utterly random crap sent out under their names by PR people all the time….)

          • This is very cute! Although I don’t know the background story (or: “I only know what I read today”) it seems that the Korean media treated him pretty badly in the past, and he seems to be still a controversial figure, so I’d be wary if I was him, too. His popularity seems to be on the rise again, but he probably knows from experience that the smallest thing can stir up a load of crap. (I just read about his coming out episode; it’s very funny to me because I watched The Interview just the other day, and it sounds like he did the Eminem-coming-out thing in real life, except he did it in South Korea in 2000 which was ever the bad idea.)

            Yes, exactly. I wish that they would do it as well, and I agree that it should be probably advantageous, but at the same time when things like “faggot bitch” stir up international controversy I can see why they wouldn’t want to put official hands in it…

            I agree. Honestly, I came to know Block B after the whole Tough Cookie thing, and this was one of the first things I was told of. I came in for the music and Zico’s solo work doesn’t really appeal to me, so I couldn’t care less for what the fans were doing, but the people defending them with arguments such as “there’s nothing wrong with the word ‘faggot'”, “they were wrong but we should forgive them” or “he is a rapper so he can diss” (since he topped the charts because of his idol image, it’s pretty delusional to think that people wouldn’t judge him based on that image, isn’t it?) weren’t exactly causing a good impression either.
            “Korean Culture Is Just That Way (meanwhile, in Korea, the person has been arrested)” ahaha yes! Yet another problem with lack of information is that myths can and will arise, too. (This reminds me of anime fandom and the recent “Miyazaki made up subtitles”, where people discussed to death the differences between ‘otaku culture’ in Japan and elsewhere, which should be a dead horse by 2015… It’s not different out there!)

            Also, Flowergate is the best name for the most pathetic funny drama I’ve read in recent weeks, thanks for that!

            • It actually REALLY annoys me when =Americans= judge Zico as an idol, because, hello, WE DON’T HAVE IDOLS. What are these idols of which you speak? Do you mean Justin Bieber, the drugged-up hyper-aggressive road racer who everyone wants to see deported back to Canada? Because when it comes to idols, Bieber is the closest thing we have!

              It’s ridiculous that there is this outrage among American K-Pop fans because Zico (*GASP*) uses bad words (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)–meanwhile he’s pursuing a graduate degree and living what appears to be quite a normal life. And you will see numerous American K-Pop fans who quite openly have VERY different standards about what American musicians can do vs. what Korean musicians can do. It’s like they’re trying to out-Korean the Korean fans–but only when it comes to Korean musicians.

              • (Sorry I took so long! I’ve been really, really busy lately.)
                Hmm, I mean we judge by the expectations we have; the (non-Korean) consumer of k-pop often isn’t the same as the consumer of American pop and I suppose the differences in idol image and whatnot play a big role. I can only say for myself, but as someone who’s been following the asian music scene (particularly Japanese, although I’d say Korean idols aren’t very different in that respect) for a while now, I can grasp some of these differences.
                But yeah, I can see what you mean too; some people have very unrealistic expectations. (Personally, this is why the fact that Block B is “that one group” in some Internet circles bothers me so much – they really haven’t done anything that bad to deserve such a treatment, but international fans are crazily unforgiving, aren’t they?)

                • How do I put this? I agree with you–I think that there are Americans who follow K-Pop because they like the fan culture better than American fan culture. But often what they like is this drastically oversimplified idea of Korea and Korean idols. Block B is constantly saying things like “We’re not idols; we’re musicians,” “Please don’t think of us as idols,” “We’re anti-idols.” And it seems that the Korean public mostly accepts that nuance–in large part, I’m sure, because the vast majority of Koreans are not 12 and are not too crazy about idol culture to begin with. But =even American K-Pop fans who hate idol culture= will subscribe to this really rigid idea of what an idol is supposed to be and criticize Korean musicians for not living up to it. (For an example of this, read Anti-KPop Fangirl’s review of “Tough Cookie.”) It apparently hasn’t occurred to these people that a Korean musician might not want to deal with all the restrictions that come with being an SM-type idol–but of course, they would never, ever expect an American musicians to accept a tenth of it.

                  (Honestly, I would just ignore the haters. They just don’t represent that many people, and Block B is doing fine without them.)

                  • Yes, I agree. But I don’t think the Block B fans are the problem here; It’s more the people who are inserted in this culture and have such unrealistic expectations, and don’t care about Block B enough to make an exception, isn’t that so? The fans know that they’re not really going for the idol image, but it’s undeniable that they were formed through an agency, their fanbase is massively composed of teen girls, and those accusations of Zico raising as a rapper on behalf of the fanbase of his “idol” group, well, weren’t totally groundless either. I can’t ignore the fact that he plays his music during Block B lives.
                    All of this is happening in Korea, so I believe that it does make sense for people to judge them as idols. But whether their expectations for idols are fair or not is another matter entirely. Block B – and particularly Zico – is involved in a lot of controversy for not adhering to those “rules”, so I guess it’s hard for someone who’s not involved to go past this image.
                    (Also, I didn’t know Anti KPop Fangirl’s blog before but it’s pretty amusing, so thank you! Although I suppose the point she was making there was more about how the fans are crazily arbitrary than anything, but I really don’t know…)

                  • (I ended up saying a lot but I’m not sure I made myself any clear, ahaha;;)
                    Just one more thing, I forgot to say but I guess we can agree on the fact that the issue isn’t properly “judging him as an idol” or not but, rather, completely ignoring Block B’s music (and fame) because of Zico being “an horrible oppa” or what have you.
                    This, I guess, is what only happens to international fans precisely because the culture is different. American pop idol culture is so different, we expect an artist to always express their individuality through their work somehow. So, as you said yourself, even when they do something horrible it’s interesting and etc. and may even become a part of their celebrity image, but another effect I see is that we tend to personalize everything. So we see Zico rapping through slurs and tend to say “Zico is an horrible person” – as if he’s automatically more horrible than any other idol who might even be actually racist/homophobic/whatever but are compelled by their agencies to not express it. And with this comes “Block B is horrible”, etc. I’m not sure if I could explain myself clearly here, but if this is what you mean, then I can totally agree with you.

    • (One of the quirks of this WordPress theme is that replies to replies will get skinnier and skinnier until they’re literally just a vertical column of letter fragments. So I’m replying here.)

      Having gone through the “Tough Cookie” brouhaha, I have to point out that “Block B fans” and “the people who are inserted in this culture” are not mutually exclusive groups. Yes, there were many fans who were like, Why does this bother you now when Block B has always been this way? (And it has always been this way–Zico performed “I’m Still Fly” at their very first showcase.) But there are people who very publicly identified as fans and who jumped on the hating bandwagon–and I would argue, even helped get that bandwagon going. If you go back through the posts I did on this blog about “Tough Cookie,” pretty much all of them are in response to stuff from other fans–I don’t seek out the opinions of the haters. (And I agree that that arbitrariness was a big issue for AKF, but I think that article fell more on the side of, “He’s always been this HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE human being–why does it surprise you that he’s SO AWFUL.” Which was definitely a common haters’ argument at the time.)

      So I guess I don’t agree that the hate strictly comes from people who are totally ignorant of what Block B is like. You do sometimes see that, but a lot of the time I think it’s more willful ignorance or fetishization–it definitely involves a lot of willingness to disregard the reality of what the group actually is.

      Interestingly, any number of normal K-Pop idols have said and done very racist things (including blackface) with the full knowledge of their labels. That’s often the basis of the “Oppa didn’t mean it” argument–idols are forced by their labels to do [the offensive thing they just did]. Labels are OK with that stuff because it has been seen as entertaining rather than as offensive in Korea–although that is changing, in no small part because Koreans are cluing in that that kind of humor is really, really offensive to those being mocked.

      And I just have to talk about “accusations of Zico raising as a rapper on behalf of the fanbase of his ‘idol’ group.” It’s VERY common for soloists to come out of popular groups (look at Hyuna and 4Minute, or Yonghaw and CNBlue), so if people are acting like Zico’s doing something bad by leveraging his connection to Block B, those people are either really ignorant or flat-out haters. (I don’t think there’s a single member who hasn’t done some kind of solo performance at their concerts.) Plus, you know that he writes and/or produces pretty much all of Block B’s music, right? It’s kind of tough to argue that the rest of the group is being exploited when they’ve relied on his musical ability to become popular.

      • (Lol, I know, right? It really bothers me.)

        Well, maybe I guess you’re right. As an “outsider” I often don’t realize that not all fans are the kind who defend them with the “Oppa didn’t mean it” argument, there are also people who identify as fans “even though they (and particularly Zico) are horrible”. It’s pretty sad that some people are arbitrarily narrow-minded about other cultures, but, well, that’s human society for you – people tend to go by their standards until someone calls them on it.

        I’ve seen a bit on those blackface and such problematic occurrences as well (and, well, Momoiro Clover Z did it recently, so it’s not an alien concept in other places either!). So maybe I should go back on what I said, I guess it’s more about what is deemed offensive in a certain pop culture. You see those jpop kids from girl groups shaving their heads and sometimes ruining their careers because they *gasp* had sex with a man, but blackface is totally fine, while in the US it’s pretty much the opposite. I do think idol culture is very different from US celebrity culture, though.

        And of course it’s not unheard of other artists (even from other countries) to make their names known through one thing that may not even be what they intended to do from the beginning. But I can see why it would be criticized, even if I don’t know much (or anything really) about the Korean underground rap scene. I know that it’s, well, underground, so it’s unlikely to get you a lot of fans willing to take you to the top of the charts like a kpop group would. Speaking in terms of business, I think it’s a smart move to make a name for yourself like Zico did. It’s not really cheating if he became versatile through his own effort, and of course those people were basically jealous haters, which is why he wrote some pretty angry answers to them (by the way, unrelated-ish but: I love the lyrics to Cocks from his mixtape and I guess it really shows what kind of pro he is).
        On the other hand, I can only say for myself, I’m not too fond of Zico’s solo work even though I love his work on Block B. So I wouldn’t like it if I went to a live expecting the act “Block B” and got “Tough Cookie”, but I know it’s part of the deal anyway. I accept the deal even though I’m being force-fed Tough Cookie (…pun not intended). So while it’s very common and acceptable and all, I would say it’s not the best example of professional posture as much as it is good advertising.

        • The way “underground” is used in the Korean music scene is really a misnomer–it’s just a way to distinguish hip-hop/R&B acts from idol acts. (Idol musicians–in particular idol rappers–have the reputation of being less talented, so there is a marketing downside to being considered an idol.) There are any number of Korean “underground” acts that do just dandy on the charts and are not underground in any meaningful sense of the word! And “underground” labels like Brand New Music and Amoeba Culture have idols groups in their stables. It’s bizarre.

          I honestly wonder about Block B’s solo performances. The members have always done them at their Korean concerts (I think that may be the norm for K-Pop groups?), and they really run the gamut: Taeil and Jaehyo will sing pretty ballads, U-Kwon and B-Bomb will dance, Zico will curse, Park Kyung will be playful, and P.O will alternate randomly between being playful and cursing while grabbing his crotch. I assume that there are people who really only like the soft ballad stuff or the hard hip-hop stuff, but I don’t really know what they do, or if they go.

          • Ah, really? I suppose it’s not really underground (…the fact that I, a non-Korean speaking foreign girl know a little about it is indicative enough, I guess) but it’s probably exposed differently in the media, isn’t it? I suppose it’s just a subculture thing, then.

            Really? I haven’t heard Jaehyo sing much and this is one thing I always ask myself, I believe I’ve seen him singing live maybe once. It’s different for, like, Taeil and Kyung who had solos released in Block B albums. (Also, your descriptions are hilarious.)

            Come to think of it, Taeil and Kyung’s solo songs are some of my favorites and I don’t know where to go myself. lol.

            • Yeah, the underground is basically less kid/fantasy-friendly. They don’t do stuff like fan meetings, and if they date/get married it’s not some huge deal. (It was funny with the Choiza/Sulli relationship, because Sulli fans were setting their Sulli-themed belongings on fire, while Choiza fans were just like, “He’s not really that ugly!”) It used to be that the music market was more closed, but nowadays with digitization it’s possible to build an audience outside the major labels, and once you do that, the TV shows will gladly have you.

              Jaehyo didn’t use to do concert solos, but he’s doing them now. Taeil’s always done them, even before his solo on “Blockbuster.” A lot of times the solos aren’t Block B songs, or they’re songs that P.O/Park Kyung/Zico have written but that haven’t been released. Which I think is cool, because it’s new stuff you haven’t heard before, but then sometimes you never get to hear it again, which is frustrating.

              Now I’ve gotten nostalgic, so I’m gonna link….

              Jaehyo


              Taeil


              U-Kwon & B-Bomb singing (with Taeil)

  15. Pingback: The World According to Tumblr | My Other Blog

  16. Pingback: Of course I’m on the road | My Other Blog

  17. Pingback: Keeping my finger on the pulse of K-Pop | My Other Blog

  18. I just discovered this blog the other day and I’ve been reading it like the latest offering from my favourite writer! For one it’s a blissful relief to find someone older in the KPop fandom. I’m 35 myself and occasionally feel like my younger KPop friends are taking their mummy along with them to events. You’re funny! The bit about trying out for the Korean version of Queer as Folk had me giggle snorting out loud on the train home. Have a hug! I feel like I’ve found a new friend in my love for all things Block B!

Leave a Reply

