Partial pictures

Standard

Thanks to my adventure with B-Bomb last night (oy, I am no longer young), I’m not getting a lot of work done today, so I thought I’d look at two self-selecting data sets that, together, can give us an incredibly incomplete sense of where Block B’s fans are.

The first is the MyMusicTaste site. I’ll just ruin the suspense and tell you that this data set is very much skewed, because fans who think that voting on MyMusicTaste will help them get a concert in their city soon are very, very motivated to vote. As well they should be!

So, here are nine of the top ten cities:

Screen Shot 2015-01-21 at 6.28.27 PM

Note a common locale? Yeah, not shockingly given that a European tour certainly seems to be getting planned, European fans have been voting and voting hard.

But…city number three is not in Europe at all.

Screen Shot 2015-01-21 at 6.28.47 PM

The Brazilian BBCs are not screwing around–they’ve been working really hard, getting other K-Pop fanbases and even general K-Pop news sites in Brazil on board. They’ve done campaigns to get concert promoters interested in Block B before, and I’m sure the rumored Mexican concert adds motivation, since Block B presumably would be willing to tack on a few additional stops in the region.

It’s been pretty interesting for me because I do follow the various fanbases on Twitter, and you’ll see one make a push, and then the country’s numbers will jump on the map.

Now, you’re not seeing a lot of activity in two places where you might expect it. The first is North America:

Screen Shot 2015-01-21 at 6.29.15 PM

The second is Asia/Australia. With the exception of South Korea

Screen Shot 2015-01-21 at 6.29.34 PM

which is taking no chances.

That’s really not what I see in my numbers from BlockB.com, which of course skews to English speakers and new or casual fans. So for the past month, visitors to BlockB.com have come from many countries, but mostly one:

graph1

Yup, lots of Americans. So many I made another graph chopping the Americans out.

graph

(I made these graphs at the National Center for Education Statistics’ Kids’ Zone site. No, I have no pride.)

So, you’re seeing a lot more geographic diversity there than on the MyMusicTastes map–sure, there are plenty of Europeans and Brazilians, but also lots from Asia/Australia and of course North America.

Neither data set is in any sense complete, and neither tells me what I’m really interested in, which is how much Block B sells where. But I’m putting it out there for what it’s worth.

4 responses »

  1. Interesting. I should vote more, I suppose, but life tends to make me forget.

    I wouldn’t be surprised, though, if the next tour is Europe plus Brazil and Mexico. They’re not BAP: they wont’ kill themselves traveling everywhere, especially when they’re already making good money in Asia.

    • I don’t think a single person can vote multiple times, at least not for the same city. I hope not–otherwise they’ll be trying to hold a concert in, say, Helsinki only to discover that it’s been just 10 people voting 100 times each!

      Block B has the freedom to do things gradually, and they’ll last a lot longer if they do. I think that’s part of the shift that’s going on in K-Pop–if you can break through to a broader audience (both internationally and age/gender-wise), you’ll have more longevity because you won’t lose all your fans the minute they get old enough to date.

Leave a Reply

