Illi-fucking-aire, motherfuckers!

Standard

Ah, just got back from the Illionaire concert in Vancouver–God, it was good. It’s been a long day for me and the weather here is awful, so part of me was like, I just shouldn’t go. But I toughed it out and am so glad I did.

It was just Dok2 and The Quiett, and oh my God were they clearly exhausted–puffy faces, dark circles under the eyes, they looked like a pair of little kids who just had their naps interrupted. But man, they are REALLY good. They both just rap effortlessly, and the tempo shifts (which I do find jarring sometimes) are handled beautifully. Plus they just have really good teamwork live.

They got more lively as the show went on (at the beginning Dok2 was asking stuff like “Are you having fun?” in this exhausted voice while propping his body up on the microphone stand–everyone was nice and didn’t laugh). They did two encores, and I don’t think they really planned to do the second–it took them a really long time to come out. But the audience was hyped, and I think that helped them find some energy.

Definitely The Quiett is more the showman–even at the beginning he was finding people’s phone cameras and performing to them (and the people just plotzed). Dok2 actually rapped with his back to the audience at the beginning–I don’t think it was exactly deliberate, he was SO tired–but then he started getting energetic and dancing around. By the end they were both high-fiving people and getting really out there (it was in a club that was set up so that everyone was close), so I think ultimately they both enjoyed the show a lot.

The audience was great–energetic but very civilized. I was glad because it was kind of a young crowd. I’d say it was about 40% men and a little more racially diverse than the Dynamic Duo concert–the club was kind isolated, so there also wasn’t all the weird crap with passers-by this time.

OK–gotta go pass out now….

ETA: They’ve put up a clip from it, and yeah, it looks like they totally didn’t expect that second encore.

And, oops! who’s that lunatic? And what the hell is she looking at?

I always photograph so well.

Leave a Reply

